In response to the need that higher education costs remain manageable, SCHEV replaced a former instructional technology committee with the Open Virginia Advisory Committee. Currently, the committee is comprised of representatives from all of Virginia’s public institutions.

OVAC has broken into several sub-committees focused on:

1.       Environmental Scan/”Lay of the Land”

a.       Task:  develop a plan/recommendations for obtaining information on the current status of OER/Openness in Virginia’s institutions.

b.      Members:  Michele Jackson (Chair), Tara Cassidy, Anita Walz, Steve Nodine, Nicole Parsons-Pollard

2.       Awareness/Outreach

a.       Task:   Develop a plan/recommendation for outreach to faculty and administrators, including workshops, webinars, opportunities to present at events that other groups are hosting, advising on publicity through SCHEV social media outlets, etc.

b.      Members:  Diane Ryan (Chair), Richard Sebastian, Jenny Quarles, Dorothy Jones, Lorraine Hall.

3.       Long-term Roadmap/Infrastructure

a.       Task:  Develop a plan/recommendations regarding OVAC’s long-term goals and a road-map for achieving them.

b.      Members:  Mohamed Eltoweissy, Jeff McClurken, Sara Cheverton, Preston Davis, George Fowler.